2021 Olwen Wymark Awards for Theatre

The Olwen Wymark Awards, the brainchild of playwrights Mark Ravenhill and David James (former Chair of the WGGB Theatre Committee), were set up to give WGGB members the opportunity to thank publicly those who had given them a positive experience in new writing over the previous year.

They are named in honour of playwright Olwen Wymark, passionate supporter of WGGB and former Chair of the WGGB Theatre Committee, who died in 2013.

David James, who has organised the award since 2005, said: “The award was set up to make a statement of how important encouragement is, and is based on the simple premise of saying ‘thank you’. "

The winners of the 16th annual awards are:

Suzanne Bell, Dramaturg, The Royal Exchange Theatre, Manchester
Nominated by Winsome Pinnock

Samir Bhamra, CEO Phizzical Productions, Creative Director UK Asian Film Festival and 2021 Senior Producer Belgrade Theatre, Coventry
Nominated by Shai Hussain

Philip Carne, Founder, the Carne Trust
Nominated by Tracy Harris

Alison Chaplin, writer and manager at Arts On The Move
Nominated by Lucy Daniel Raby

Jo Clifford, playwright, performer and translator
Nominated by Katherine Mendelsohn

Kirstie Davis, freelance theatre director
Nominated by Joyce Branagh

Jessica Dromgoole, audio drama producer
Nominated by Martin Sketchley

Tommo Fowler and Tamar Saphra, Co-Founders, RoughHewn Dramaturgy
Nominated by Eve Leigh

Penny Gold, former script editor, producer and literary manager, currently a playwright, Literary Consultant RSC, and undertaking dramaturgical work for Kali Theatre and others
Nominated by Seamus Finnegan

Grace Gummer, director, dramaturg
Nominated by Natalie Mitchell

Kate Hall, Creative Producer, Jumped Up Theatre, Peterborough
Nominated by Nick Wood

Richard Hart (Corestar Media), producer; Jennifer Matter, actress; Manuel Puro, casting director; Karen Read, producer and Mark Wingett, actor
Nominated by John Hales

Pippa Hill, Head of Literary at the Royal Shakespeare Company
Nominated by Juliet Gilkes Romero

Julia Holofcener, theatre producer
Nominated by Giles Cole

Gemma Jenkins, Producer, BBC Audio Drama, London
Nominated by Ian Billings

Coni Koepfinger, Director AirPlay and Determined Women, Playwright in Residence at Cosmic Orchid Theatre, NYC, Manhattan Repertory Theatre, NYC
Nominated by Brian McAvera

Maria Leaf, teacher, Green School For Boys/Francis Holland/St Marylebone Weekend School
Nominated by Susan Wokoma

David Mansell, Script Editor/Dramaturg, Professional Writing Academy
Nominated by Emily Beecher

Jake Murray, Artistic Director, Elysium Theatre Company
Nominated by Mike Elliston

Julia Negus and Chris O'Connell, Artist-Producer and Writer- Director, Theatre Absolute
Nominated by Alexandra Johnson

Stef O'Driscoll, freelance director
Nominated by Sophie Ellerby

Shereen Jasmin Phillips, Director of Taking Part at the Young Vic
Nominated by Somalia Seaton

Leonie Scott-Matthews, Artistic Director of Pentameters Theatre
Nominated by Jan Woolf

Zoe Simpson, Producer, PW Productions
Nominated by Matthew Hurt

Paul Smith, Artistic Director and Joint CEO, Middle Child Theatre, Hull
Nominated by Luke Barnes

Simon Stephens, playwright, teacher
Nominated by Isla van Tricht

Chaz Webb, stage manager
Nominated by Will Jackson

Info. sent by Kate Glasspool, Writers’ Guild of Great Britain; many thanks - ND.


Back to top

Radio Plays
Wine Making
Cosby Methodist Church
Gokart Racing
Links to other sites
Contact Us