-for work done in 2017


The Writers' Guild of Great Britain (WGGB) has announced the shortlist for its annual awards, to be presented on Monday 15 January 2018 at the Royal College of Physicians in central London.

WGGB President Olivia Hetreed said: "I am enormously pleased and proud of the Writers' Guild Award shortlists announced today. They represent the best of British writing by the best writers across the full range of dramatic and comic writing. And they are all selected by working writers in their own field. It is that judgement by your peers that makes these Awards unique and uniquely special to the winners."

The shortlist in 14 categories is shown below. In addition, a special award for outstanding contribution to writing is presented at the ceremony each year.

Best Long Form TV Drama
Bang, Episode 1 (Roger Williams),
Line of Duty, Series 4 (Jed Mercurio),
Taboo (Chips Hardy, Steven Knight, Ben Hervey and Emily Ballou)

Best Short Form TV Drama
Three Girls (Nicole Taylor),
Waiting for Andre (Neil Forsyth),
The Witness for the Prosecution (Sarah Phelps)

Best Long Running TV Series
Coronation Street, Episode 9251 (Damon Alexis-Rochefort),
Emmerdale, Episode 7699 "Inside the Mind of Dementia" (Maxine Alderton),
Holby City, Series 19, Episode 2 "Rocket Man" (Peter Mattessi)

Best TV Situation Comedy
This Country (Daisy May Cooper and Charlie Cooper),
Back (Simon Blackwell),
Inside No. 9 "The Bill" (Steve Pemberton and Reece Shearsmith)

Best Children's TV Episode
Counterfeit Cat "Room of Panic" (Tim Bain),
Counterfeit Cat "Sardonians of the Galaxy" (Ciaran Murtagh and Andrew Jones),
The Worst Witch "The Mists of Time" (Nick Leather)

Best Radio Drama
Romance Is Dead (Ben Lewis),
The Things We Never Said (Ming Ho),
Blood, Sex and Money by Emile Zola, Season 3, Money "Reap" (Lavinia Murray)

Best Radio Comedy
Sarah Kendall: Australian Trilogy "A Day In October" (Sarah Kendall),
John Finnemore's Double Acts, Series 2, Episode 4 "Penguin Diplomacy" (John Finnemore),
Kevin Eldon Will See You Now, Series 3, Episode 1 "Tarquin and the Tiny Studio" (Kevin Eldon, Jason Hazeley and Joel Morris)

Best Writing in a Video Game
Battlefield 1 (Steven Hall, Zachary Betka, Mark Bristol, Matt Gibbs, Justin Villiers, Andrew Robertshaw and Steven Bigras),
Hellblade: Senua's Sacrifice (Tameem Antoniades),
Subsurface Circular (Mike Bithell)

Best Screenplay
Miss Sloane (Jonathan Perera),
Their Finest (Gaby Chiappe),
The Olive Tree (Paul Laverty)

Best First Screenplay
God's Own Country (Francis Lee),
Jawbone (Johnny Harris),
Under the Shadow (Babak Anvari)

Best Play
Barber Shop Chronicles (Inua Ellams),
The Children (Lucy Kirkwood),
The Ferryman (Jez Butterworth)

Best Play for Young Audiences
How To Be A Kid (Sarah McDonald-Hughes),
The Host (Nessah Muthy),
The Messenger (Mike Kenny)

Best First Novel
Towards Mellbreak (Marie Elsa-Bragg),
Montpelier Parade (Karl Geary),
The Bureau of Second Chances (Sheena Kalayil)

Best Online Comedy
Showreel for One Word or Less Parts (Marek Larwood),
Meet the city boys secretly voting for Corbyn! (Gabriel Bisset-Smith),
A Hard Brexit (Barney Fishwick and Will Hislop)

Sponsors: The Authors' Licensing and Collecting Society (ALCS) is the lead sponsor of the Writers' Guild Awards this year. Our other sponsors are the BBC, ITV, Company Pictures, and Nick Hern Books. Many thanks to all of them.

information supplied by Sarah Woodley, Writers' Guild - many thanks.



2016 Fat Little Thing by Lucy Gannon
2015 Quill by Tony Jones
2014 A Night Visitor, by Stephanie Jacob
2013 Tennyson and Edison, by David Pownall
2012 Pandemic, by John Dryden (Indie, Goldhawk)
2011 Troll, by Ed Harris

2016 Double Acts – Series 1, Episode 5, “English for Pony Lovers” by John Finnemore
2015 White Rolls The Dice, by Deborah Frances.
2014 The Brig Society, by Marcus Brigstocke
2013 Susan Calman Is Convicted, by Susan Calman
2012 I, Regress, by Matt Berry
2011 Cabin Pressure, by John Finnemore


Back to top

Radio Plays
Wine Making
Cosby Methodist Church
Gokart Racing
Links to other sites
Contact Us